Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
Bike has sat for a year (Read 181 times)
Dark Savage
YaBB Newbies

Austin, TX
Bike has sat for a year
12/14/07 at 13:13:42

Hello everyone,

I'm a complete motorcycling newbie but have been lurking here for about a month.

I'm about to buy a 95 Savage from a coworker. He's selling it to me for $600 USD. It has been sitting for a year but he says it was running when it was parked. It needs a new battery and he doesn't want to mess with getting it running. He will guarantee me the engine is not seized.

This is what I'm thinking should be done to start it. Please tell me if you have any other suggestions or tips.

Drain tank and put new gas.
Replace battery.
Pull off the carb bowl and clean out the bowl. Spray some carb cleaner into the carb while I have the bowl off. Put carb back together.
Pull spark plug wire off and crank for a minute or two to get oil into the engine.
Hook up spark plug wire, turn petcock on, and try to start it.

Once started I will replace the spark plug and air filter, do an oil change, service the brakes, and grease the fork tubes.

Also, will I need a new gasket for the carb bowl or can I re-use what it has? Should I try to clean the tank out before I put new gas in? Any other suggestions?

This will be my first bike and I'm really excited about it. WooHoo!

IP Logged
Reelthing
Serious Thumper
Alliance Member

Fish or ride that is
the question

Houston,Tx
Re: Bike has sat for a year
Reply #1 - 12/14/07 at 13:32:21

Good price perhaps - was it sitting inside or outside?

IP Logged
Dark Savage
YaBB Newbies

Austin, TX
Reply #2 - 12/14/07 at 13:34:08

It was sitting in a barn.

IP Logged
Max_Morley
Serious Thumper

LT650 Luxury Touring
& sidecar rig

Moses Lake. WA
Reply #3 - 12/14/07 at 13:36:24

You sure stole that one, lucky person. Max  http://suzukisavage.com/yabb2.2/Templates/Forum/default/cheesy.gif