Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Retuning 06 S40 for Screaming Eagle Muffler Swap (Read 35 times)
kawasakis3
YaBB Newbies

NEW ORLEANS, LOUISIANA
Retuning 06 S40 for Screaming Eagle Muffler Swap
12/10/07 at 16:01:37

I bought a new Screaming Eagle Muffler for my Girlfriends 06 S40. I know that the carb and air filter will also need to be changed or modified. I ordered the Jet Set, and the Revised CD from the guys on this site. I plan to order a K&N Filter to drop in the stock airbox. What is an airbox mod consist of and have I forgotten anything else I'll need to install this muffler and make the bike run right. I have been riding and working on motorcycles for 42 years and have owned 24 bikes. I hope this CD will give my some insight on how to fine tune the carb which is something I never have done before. Any suggestions as to something I'm forgetting will be appreciated. I don't want to just put the muffler on and the bike run like crap.   Thanks in advance for any help

IP Logged
vtail

life's short, ride
fast

Portland,OR
Re: Retuning 06 S40 for Screaming Eagle Muffler Sw
Reply #1 - 12/10/07 at 19:29:45

Desnorkel (Pull seat off and remove the intake rubber on top of the airbox)Drop in K&N filter
Rejet the main (152 in mine)
Remove top of carb and pull out the slide with the rubber vacuum bellow attached. Look inside the slide and MARK the TOP of the piece that holds the needle with a magic marker BEFORE removing the 2 small screws inside the slide. (It should go back in exactly like it came out or else) After you take out the needle you'll see a small white spacer.
I removed mine completely since I feel that this was just a kneejerk move by Suzuki to get it lean enough for DEQ.
Drill small hole in mixture plug on right of carb,screw in small screw and yank out the plug.
Adjust idle mixture for highest rpm when idling hot.
Adjust rpm with hand throttle knob on left of carb. Wink