Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Noob Adjust Idle Mix Without Screwing Up (Read 13 times)
1st2know

Currently between
Savages

Seattle, WA
Noob Adjust Idle Mix Without Screwing Up
11/20/07 at 18:13:15

Hello LS650 World,

I am a newbie with a 1998 stock Savage with about 6700 miles on the clock. I bought it from a person who thought she wanted to ride, but then she found other things to do. This thing sat in a garage for about 7 of its 10 year history, logged only 4,000 miles. I have been bracing myself for bike rot failures (bad gas, rust, scary spiders crawling from handgrips, etc).  So far, no sign of rot, maybe I got lucky, but I should replace the tires this winter.

My first Savage wrench merit badge goes to pulling the brass plug from the carb. Done! The symptoms I'm treating are "Wont stay running in cold weather (below 50f)". I've owned carburated VWs in the past and this is sounding like lean idle mix. The Savage even sounds like an old VW. The heater on the Savage is much better than the VW  Smiley

I was concerned about drilling too far when pulling the plug, but I managed to not screw it up. I also bought a new micrometer this year, so I measured the plug: it's  5/32" thick and about 1/4" diameter. Now to find a rubber plug to protect the idle screw. I've been measuring every thing since I bought the Micrometer. My wife shakes her head: "Do you have to measure the diamond on my ring again?".... Measure twice...