Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
Looking to get a Savage! (Read 10 times)
lexx9
YaBB Newbies

I love YaBB 1G -
SP1!

Looking to get a Savage!
10/28/07 at 09:35:04

Hi, this is my first post. I started riding this year and now I have a 1983 cm450e. I will be getting a new bike this spring and I am looking for some advice. I would like to get a Savage because they are very nice looking and you can do amazing customs with them but I am 6.0ft with a 32" inseam and weight 190 lbs. Am I just too plain big for this bike? Pls lmk your thoughts. lexx9

IP Logged
Paladin.
Serious Thumper

Hamster

Sunny Southern California
Re: Looking to get a Savage!
Reply #1 - 10/28/07 at 10:09:56

Some six-footers have problems, others do not.  As far as I can tell, if you scrap the stock saddle and mount a solo seat a few inches further back you'll be quite happy.

WWW   IP Logged
Demin
Serious Thumper

We need more
chlorine in the gene
pool

Warren,Ohio
Reply #2 - 10/28/07 at 10:20:26

I'm 6'3" 250 ish.Yeah it might be a little small.I ride mine about an hour each way to,and from Dallas and it's not to bad.But I like being nimble.There are also extened forward controls to go along with what Paladin said.I have two,one with drag bars the other with 14"apes,both are fairly comfortable. Wink

Next project:finish '87 Savage custom/bobber/CHOP STYLE***DONE
finish '77 Yamaha XS650 bobber Bought another one
finish'79 Harley custom bobber(NEXT)
  IP Logged
PhotoProf

Only the mediocre
are always at their
best!

Reply #3 - 10/28/07 at 18:39:57

I'm about 6"2" and 177lbs with a 32" inseam and I haven't found the S-40 to be a bad ride. It is a fun bike to ride and seems to offer a number of positive reasons to buy it.

IP Logged
T Mack 1 - FSO
Serious Thumper
Alliance Member

sold 2001 LS650 for
a 1986 XLH1100

Emmaus,Pa
Reply #4 - 10/29/07 at 18:26:42

I'm 5'11" on a good day (5'10" if I've been beaten down at work) w/ 32" inseam.