Send Topic Print
Glowing (Read 17 times)
longmi01
YaBB Newbies

Des Moines, IA
Glowing
10/24/07 at 18:41:58

Alright guys,
I've been riding my savage a lot for a little over two months now, and I love every minute of it!  I've been doing some performance upgrades - half spacer, 152.5 main, and finally a dyna muff.  I just picked up the muffler today and bolted it right on.  

Now here's the issue - I just got done with an hour long drive on the freeway (cruising ~70mph) and during it, I happened to look at my muffler, and there was the slightest 4" blue/white flame coming consistently out the back.  

Okay, here's what I'm wondering - is this incomplete combustion because of an incorrect fuel/air mix, or is this just something that happens to everybody.  I got to thinking, and it almost seems like it's unavoidable because of the engine speed.  When traveling so fast, the F/A mix doesn't have enough time to fully combust before ejected.  Is this correct thinking, or am I theorizing too much?  

Also, it seems to me that this could be part of a timing issue where my timing might be slightly retarded and would not be igniting soon enough.  

Oh well, too much thinking for now.  I'm just excited my bike finally sounds like a real motorcycle!  It feels like it runs much better too.  
Later,
Mitch

IP Logged
toddlamp8

I love YaBB 1G -
SP1!

Re: Glowing
Reply #1 - 10/24/07 at 18:59:45

I had a similar "problem" after installing my HD muffler.  It seems that I am running very rich (~40mpg).  All I did was change the muffler and now my bike is a blowtorch.  I'm still looking for a solution.  Please let me know if you come up with anything.

IP Logged
longmi01
YaBB Newbies

Des Moines, IA
Reply #2 - 10/24/07 at 19:04:13