Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
Drained oil, Gas came out! (Read 23 times)
Raleigh_TA
Ex Member

Drained oil, Gas came out!
09/22/07 at 07:34:40

Newbie here again... 97 Savage, new rider, limited mechanical knowledge.

Thought it might be smart to change the oil as who knows when the previous owner did it last. So, I opened the drain plug and what a gusher! A couple of gallons of a gas/oil mix came out.  I did a search on this site, and saw some discussion of petc0ck leakage getting through carb and into cylinder, seeping past ring, and into sump.  This is the same bike that had an airbox full of gas/oil mix, and previous owner passed on the bike with no air filter element (got one now).  I guess I should be amazed it ran at all, but I fear the cylinder may be pretty damaged due to poor lubrication for the hour or so of running time we have had.  
My plan is to replace the oil filter and oil, and see how much the thing smokes when it fires up again.  Until I replace the petc0ck, I think I'll clamp the fuel line when it is not in use as I think the thingy leaks no matter what position I leave it.

Opinions?  Input?

Thanks, Russ

IP Logged
Demin
Serious Thumper

We need more
chlorine in the gene
pool

Warren,Ohio
Re: Drained oil, Gas came out!
Reply #1 - 09/22/07 at 08:03:53

Petthingy would be my bet. Wink

Next project:finish '87 Savage custom/bobber/CHOP STYLE***DONE
finish '77 Yamaha XS650 bobber Bought another one
finish'79 Harley custom bobber(NEXT)
  IP Logged
Savage_Greg
Serious Thumper
Alliance Member

Don't go around your
ass to reach your
elbow...

SW Washington State
Reply #2 - 09/22/07 at 08:46:59

Dam...

Maybe the petc0ck, but stuck float is also possible.