Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Carb Photos (Read 14 times)
Raleigh_TA
Ex Member

Carb Photos
09/12/07 at 06:31:40

Could anyone direct me to some photos of the carb and the hoses that attach?  No doubt I am very new to bikes, and the fool my wife bought her Savage from neglected to tell her he removed the Air Filter Element!  We ran the bike for several rides amounting to about an hour in the neighborhood, and in that time it fouled the plug about 6 times!  I am learning out of necessity how to work on the Savage.  Last night I found a large amount of gas (a bit oily) in the air box!  I mopped it out, but that is when I found I had no element.  I don't know why there was fuel in the air box, and why it did not drain (there is a drain hose isn't there?)  
So the story is, there are two hoses coming off the carb that are about 4" long, and I don't know if they are supposed to just vent, or if they are supposed to connect to something.  There is another hose that comes off the carb and connects to the petthingy's bottom connector, and I can't be sure that is correct as the previous owner may have played with it.
Any photos of the hoses and tubes coming of the carb and where they are supposed to connect would be greatly appreciated!
Any mechanical advice would help as well.  I downloaded the Clymer so you can reference that if needed.
Thanks, Russ

IP Logged
Savage_Greg
Serious Thumper
Alliance Member

Don't go around your
ass to reach your
elbow...

SW Washington State
Re: Carb Photos
Reply #1 - 09/12/07 at 07:09:51

Can I redirect you to the "Never Heard Of..." topic?

Really though your air box gunk is normal and without knowing what the previous owner did the rest sounds normal too.