Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
Brake pad question (Read 254 times)
Savage = HD eater

So Cal
Brake pad question
08/29/07 at 15:39:20

What kind of brake pads do you use?  Is it an easy do-it-yourself job for a non-mechanic?

When I'm on the VTX, I'm a smooth operator but when I ride the Savage, I'm back to the basics!!! (and loving it!)
  IP Logged
Rogue_Cheddar
Serious Thumper

Hang up the phone
and drive!

Haverhill, Massachusetts
Re: Barke pad question
Reply #1 - 08/29/07 at 17:43:52

I recently did both front and rear. I use EBC pads bought from BIKEBANDIT, around 25$ for each set. I think most agree the EBC pads are definitely better than OEM pads  and are reasonably priced. Following the Clymers guide, it is not too difficult. There is also a thread in the tech section with photos that show the front brake pad replacement with good clarity. Part of the fun of this bike is some of these repairs can be fairly easily done by yourself and will save you significant money. If you know your way around a few wrenches and can read a manual, I say go for it. I don't consider myself a mechanic but I know a few things. One of which is I don't like paying someone $75 bucks an hour doing something that I could do. You will learn this quickly as you call dealerships for price quotes on normal repairs issues. Even though I have only 2 seasons under my belt, I feel like I can call myself a biker, because I also wrench on it.

'95 Red Savage. Oring grips and pegs, 30" Fishtail muffler,152.5 main, 1/3 spacer mod ,seat lift, Verslagy.
  IP Logged
Savage_Rob
Serious Thumper
Alliance Member

Mechanically
Inclined Amateur

Texas (Dallas area)
Re: Brake pad question
Reply #2 - 08/31/07 at 04:47:10

For the front pads...

SBS SBS-581HF Ceramic Pads at i-Bike.com