Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
Shadow vs Savage (Read 59 times)
Pizza_King
Ex Member

Shadow vs Savage
08/20/07 at 18:41:37

Anyone owned both and care to compare? I'm taking the motorcycle safety course in October and probably will try to purchase a bike in December or January. I figured if I went savage I'd save money in the rare case I decide biking isn't my thing.

Compare things such as.... Size,  drivability, reliability, Comfort,  Etc...

Thanks all,

Kyle

IP Logged
PhotoProf

Only the mediocre
are always at their
best!

Re: Shadow vs Savage
Reply #1 - 08/20/07 at 19:37:40

Kyle... which Shadow are you looking at (displacement)?

IP Logged
Pizza_King
Ex Member

Reply #2 - 08/20/07 at 19:47:02

Since I'm a beginner no more than a 750.

IP Logged
wrongwayair

central Il
Reply #3 - 08/20/07 at 20:14:24

ok, I haven't actually ridden them but before I happened across the Savage I was ready to sign the papers on the Shadow VLX (600) for no better reason than it just felt right.  Nice low seat, well balanced & looked good too.  The 750 however, i've sat on a few of these & they seem top heavy & from my perspective just too wide.  Then again, i'm only 5'6".  The riding part, i'm sure there are others here that can help you with that.  Good Luck!

Indecision may or may not be my problem .... Jimmy Buffett
  IP Logged
firsts40

Proud PGR Member

South Mississippi
Reply #4 - 08/20/07 at 22:39:18

What I would do is go to the different dealers, sit on one you may like, bring it up off the kick stand and rock it gently a little from side to side.  This will help you get a feel of the balance.  What I did for the handle bars is, I sat on the bike with my eyes closed, hands on my knees and lifted my arms up and out in a natural position and see if my hands fell on the grips.  If you are riding with your arms and hands not in a natural position for you, you will be uncomfortable.