Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
White spacer again... (Read 10 times)
Tekumseh
Ex Member

White spacer again...
07/25/07 at 07:11:28

I'm not a mechanic at all. So I start with this question:
Can I reach this spacer from the side of the carb, or do I have to remove the tank to get it from upside?

When you guys say remove half of the white spacer, how do you split it? Cut by knife in the middle or what?

My Savage is "coughing" when it's warm, and I accellerate. This means if I go over 80 km/h, it takes 5 minutes before it starts coughing and backfiring. The front of the exhaust is blue and gold-colored...

Please explain in "bookish" english, cause I'm from Norway. Thanx! Smiley

IP Logged
Balderdash

Minnesota
Re: White spacer again...
Reply #1 - 07/25/07 at 07:28:34

Not only will you have to take the tank off, you will likely have to take the carburator out of the engine as well...

When messing with the white washer (or the white washer mod) they are talking about taking the plastic washer in your hand (part 6 in your diagram if I can see it right) and then rubbing it accross some sand paper on a table top until the washer is only half as thick as it was when you started.

Then putting the plastic washer back where it was so it is now a 1/2 washer.

BEWARE; since this is a one way modification (you can't go back to original if you mess it up), instead of sanding the washer down I recommend that you buy a couple of #4 washers at the hardware store and use them in place of the white washer, that way if you want to go back to what it was before you started you can simply put the unaltered white washer back in and take the #4's out.