Send Topic Print
Emgo Air Filters (Read 30 times)
jwirtz333
YaBB Newbies

I love YaBB 1G -
SP1!

Emgo Air Filters
06/27/07 at 08:40:26

I am wanted to put a better filter on my Savage and I've seen advertised on ebay an Emgo Cone Filter that will fit right onto the bike without removing the airbox.  If anyone knows what this would be, I am looking for the part number to order one.

Also,  I would be open for other possible performance filters that you would see as better than the Emgo.  If other suggestions are mentioned, please tell me why you think another brand would be better.

IP Logged
vroom1776
Serious Thumper

Re: Emgo Air Filters
Reply #1 - 06/27/07 at 09:09:37

well, genrerally KN filters allow lots of air while still doing a pretty good job filtering.  you could just use a kn rc 1250 pod, but you gotta cut up or remove the airbox.  there is also kn replacement for the stock air filter.  that, plus the desnorkel mod works well.  as for the mego, I have no experience, but the ID of the flange needs to be 2.25" to fit over the carb mouth.

V

IP Logged
jwirtz333
YaBB Newbies

I love YaBB 1G -
SP1!

Reply #2 - 06/27/07 at 09:28:00

What exactly is a desnorkel mod, and does it require the airbox to be removed?  Where can I look to find this product?

thanks

IP Logged
vroom1776
Serious Thumper

Reply #3 - 06/27/07 at 09:54:23

take the seat off.  see that thing sticking out of the top oif the airbox?  it has two holes and a cross piece.  pull it out with pliers.  you are desnorkeled.  now rejet.

you gonna do a pipe too?

IP Logged
jwirtz333
YaBB Newbies

I love YaBB 1G -
SP1!

Reply #4 - 07/03/07 at 12:16:03