Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
Windshields (Read 12 times)
DanGill

Windshields
06/21/07 at 08:58:10

I'm new to this. I just bought a 2006 S40 after over 25 years on four wheels. The bike had the small Suzuki windshield, which seems a little inadequate to me. I'm 6' 0", and I'm getting a lot of wind noise and helmet buffeting. The little shield does keep the wind off my chest, but that's all.

What windshields have you had experience with? I intend to commute on this bike, and I'd like to have more coverage, even the handgrips. I like the look of the Slipstream Falcon and the Hellfire.

Swapped the S40 on a Shadow Spirit 1100
  IP Logged
verslagen1
YaBB Moderator
ModSquad

Where there's a
will, I want to be
in it.

L.A. California
Re: Windshields
Reply #1 - 06/21/07 at 09:16:03

You can do a couple of things, raise it, lower it or buy a new one.

You can lower it, the helmet buffeting occurs in a narrow band just above the windshield.  If you lower if a few inches the buffeting occurs at the neck which aides ventilation in your helmet.   Grin

If you raise it to just below eye level the buffeting will be over head.

I have a memphis demon and I'm 6'.  I'm confortable up until 70 or until a head wind kicks up.  In which case I duck a little sport bike style.

WWW   IP Logged
firsts40

Proud PGR Member

South Mississippi
Reply #2 - 06/21/07 at 10:07:46

If it is the windshield made for the S40 by Suzuki, I do not think you can raise it because of the way it attaches to the forks.  It can only go up so high.  Take a look at where it is mounted to see if it is as high as it will go.  I have one on my 06 S40 also, but I am 5'10", and it isn't that bad for me.

Dana from Misissippi
Riding with Respect
  IP Logged
mclay
Ex Member

Reply #3 - 06/22/07 at 03:08:32

Hey Dan,

You and I are the same height....and I experienced the same problems with the stock shield.