Send Topic Print
Honest Appraisals Needed (Read 5 times)
Slug_Ascot
YaBB Newbies

I love YaBB 1G -
SP1!

Honest Appraisals Needed
06/18/07 at 04:22:46

I am a newbie to this site.  I want to buy a bike for my wife, who’s middle aged, short and inexperienced.  
What are the strong points of owning a Savage?  
What are the weaknesses of the Savage?
Are they reliable?  
Will it last into high mileage?
Anything you can tell me about the Savages would be most appreciated.
Thank You in advance,
Slug Ascot

IP Logged
mornhm - FSO
Serious Thumper

HMMM

Re: Honest Appraisals Needed
Reply #1 - 06/18/07 at 04:44:24

Slug_Ascot wrote on 12/31/69 at 16:00:06:
I am a newbie to this site.  I want to buy a bike for my wife, who’s middle aged, short and inexperienced.  
What are the strong points of owning a Savage?

Reliable, good torque, easy geometry to ride (esp for short people), easy to maintain, simple instrumentation, light, looks good,  reasonable gas mileage
Quote:
What are the weaknesses of the Savage?

Small gas tank, not suitable for getting out on the expressway and touring, not suitable for all people's body geometry, instrumentation maybe too simple, some known leaks/problems, lean tune condition from factory is typical
Quote:
Are they reliable?  

yes
Quote:
Will it last into high mileage?

from all I've read
Quote:
Anything you can tell me about the Savages would be most appreciated.

This is a great site, if you're interested, read up in the archives, I never had the "leak" and didn't keep mine long enough 6,000 miles to develop any long term/age problems, with tuning (no modifications) I was able to eliminate the afterfire "problem"
Quote:
Thank You in advance,
Slug Ascot

IP Logged
justin_o_guy
Ex Member

Reply #2 - 06/18/07 at 07:06:46