Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Cold weather engine question (Read 7 times)
Savage = HD eater

So Cal
Cold weather engine question
05/29/07 at 22:05:49

For you folks that ride in the cold weather, do you have problems with your engine being extremely finicky?  Mine starts and runs okay in anything above 70 degrees but anything less, it dies when I come to a stop.  It's like it wants warm air only.  Even when the engine is warm.

HELP!!!

??? ???

When I'm on the VTX, I'm a smooth operator but when I ride the Savage, I'm back to the basics!!! (and loving it!)
  IP Logged
verslagen1
YaBB Moderator
ModSquad

Where there's a
will, I want to be
in it.

L.A. California
Re: Cold weather engine question
Reply #1 - 05/29/07 at 22:14:22

Your idle too low for the cold mornings, speed it up a bit.  of course afternoons it going to be fast.   Grin

WWW   IP Logged
Savage_Greg
Serious Thumper
Alliance Member

Don't go around your
ass to reach your
elbow...

SW Washington State
Reply #2 - 05/29/07 at 22:53:03

Maybe could use one of those wind screens that 18 wheelers use in front of the radiator in cold weather.  I really like the one's with the image of Taz too.

IP Logged
spike

Love 2 Ride

Pa
Reply #3 - 05/30/07 at 00:38:13

I don't have much of a problem till in the 30's and I'm running it hard. It seems the cold air running over the engine keeps it to cool and it dosn't warm up enough.

2K6 Silver Backfiring Front Brake Squealing S40 =8P Member #2147
driverspike bigspike1958   IP Logged
Savage_Greg
Serious Thumper
Alliance Member

Don't go around your
ass to reach your
elbow...

SW Washington State
Reply #4 - 05/30/07 at 20:29:53

The other post was just a joke, but there was a reason behind it.  Why do truckers try to keep their diesel engines warm by blocking the radiator?  It ain't just for a Taz face.