Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Help! My 87 Savage dies when I brake. (Read 9 times)
jerhoiyan
Ex Member

Help! My 87 Savage dies when I brake.
05/16/07 at 15:55:12

I have a 1987 Savage that has been giving me problems.  I'm new to motorcycles so I could use some help.  My motorcycle starts right up, without using the choke.  However, when I ride, almost every time I come to a stoplight and have to stop, the engine sputters and dies.  It starts right back up, but continues to die every time I stop.  Does anyone have any ideas on what might be causing this problem?  Thank you!

IP Logged
verslagen1
YaBB Moderator
ModSquad

Where there's a
will, I want to be
in it.

L.A. California
Re: Help! My 87 Savage dies when I brake.
Reply #1 - 05/16/07 at 16:33:10

So does it have any other symptoms?

Is the rpm low?
does it die when ever the brakes are on?
do you pull the clutch in?
ok that's like 'is it plugged in?' have to ask kind of question, but you'd be surprised how many times the answer was no.

Tell us a little more, how many miles, last thing serviced, what's new, etc, etc, etc...   Grin

WWW   IP Logged
vroom1776
Serious Thumper

Reply #2 - 05/16/07 at 17:09:32

only when you come to a complete stop?

or will it die under hard braking and the front end dips?

IP Logged
jerhoiyan
Ex Member

Reply #3 - 05/16/07 at 17:10:26