Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Possible passenger? (Read 5 times)
coke687
Ex Member

Possible passenger?
05/13/07 at 11:56:06

Hello,  Looking for my first bike, and I am reading that the s40 is a great starter bike. The problem is my wife is going to want the occasional country road ride. Is this bike big enough for us? About 340 lbs of us. Im leary about going any bigger, because i am just learning to ride. Thanks for any  imput.

IP Logged
ALfromN.H.  FSO
Serious Thumper
Alliance Member

Dragon Slayer

Rochester, New Hampshire
Re: Possible passenger?
Reply #1 - 05/13/07 at 12:06:08

I take my daughter with me quite a bit and we are a combined 300 or so. Not a problem. The rear shocks bottom out on the worst bumps but I could stiffen up the rear shocks to fix that. I wouldn't advise taking a passenger until you have plenty of solo time first though. Having someone on the back makes a big difference in every aspect of riding. Good luck.

AL

2006 Harley Electra Glide 2014-Present
2009 Suzuki C50 2010-2014
2005 Suzuki S40 2006-2013
camaro103060 camaro103060   IP Logged
coke687
Ex Member

Reply #2 - 05/13/07 at 12:10:22

thanks Al.  I plan on waiting a year or so for that. I was  hoping this bike would fit the bill, as the price tag is right, new or used.

IP Logged
Yonuh Adisi FSO
Serious Thumper

Savage Jedi (Knight)

Pilot Valley NV, aka Tatooine
Reply #3 - 05/13/07 at 12:26:16

Yes, you can ride two up on this bike, and it is a great starter bike. But like Al said, you might want to stiffen up the shocks a bit which is very easily done and can be done yourself.

Check out Flight of Destiny http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00H9130XC
  IP Logged
georgekathe
Ex Member

Reply #4 - 05/13/07 at 12:53:37

rear seat is not the biggest for taking a passenger - would recommend trying one out for size on dealer's showroom floor.

IP Logged
Paladin.
Serious Thumper

Hamster

Sunny Southern California