Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
HOWTO: Head Plug Cap / Seal (step-by-step) (Read 1355 times)
djpennin
YaBB Newbies

poo

HOWTO: Head Plug Cap / Seal (step-by-step)
04/21/07 at 12:38:17

Head Plug Cap / Seal Fix
djp 20020515

Instructions on how to change the head seal plug
Approx time: 2-3hrs (that's how long it took me, and i'm a newbie)

-remove seat
-unscrew 10mm bolt on left side
-unscrew 10mm bolt on right side
-pull seat off
-remove left side cover
-remove screw
-pull off cover
-disconnect negative battery lead
-remove screw
-turn gas petthingy off
-remove gas line from tank
-remove speedo cable
-unscrew from engine
-pull out speedo cable
-remove breather tube
-pull off tube from carb on right side of bike
-remove rear two 10mm bolts from rear of tank
-pull tank up and back and disconnect electrical plug
-remove left side chrome cover
-unscrew 10mm bolt from back
-unscrew 10mm bolt from front
-use needlenose pliers to hold nut through fins
-remove cable that goes to solenoid
-loosen nuts that hold cable
-pull off cable from head
-remove spark plug wire from plug
-remove right side chrome cover
-unscrew 10mm bolt from back
-unscrew 10mm bolt from front
-slide right side chrome cover back and remove tube
-remove chrome cover
-unscrew solenoid left side 10mm bolt
-slide solenoid up then replace bolt to hole solenoid up
-this gets the solenoid just far enough out of the way to reach screws below
-disconnect solenoid plug
-remove 10mm bolts from head cover
-DO NOT REMOVE THE BOLT that is on the right side  
closest to where you removed the big tube
-remove the bolts in a orderly fasion from one side  
to the other to even the stress on the head cover
-dont forget the 10mm bolt that are under the valve timing cover
-dont forget the other 10mm bolt under the other cover as well
-remove the engine mount
-unscrew the three 12mm bolts
-remove cover
-pull off head cover
-clean any sealant that is on head cover