did the ton (Read 42 times)
Hutch
Serious Thumper

till death do us
part

Birch Run, MI. U.S.A.
Re: did the ton
Reply #15 - 02/15/07 at 20:38:03

Well I guess john1652 and I just got lemons or something??? Mine is an 06, 152main , 55 pilot ,full spacer with full spacer, KN drop in and Jardine muffler. I has no pops or backfires. Plug is light gray. 55mpg. Acelerates like a rocket. No clutch slip and without a tach I don't no what the RPMS are at 80 but she is wound real tight and the throttle has been wound as
far as it will go for a while with no more pick up in sight.
There is no slop in the throttle cable either. I have been riding and building bikes for over 40 years so I now I haven't missed anything. The very first post I ever put up in November was about no top end on my bike and that was why I wanted to go to chain drive. Like I said I  drag raced a 1200 Sporster and stomped it until 70 mph. Other people said they could only beat 883 Sporsters up to 60mph. That is why I'm out of top end faster, all I have is sheer take off. No top end. It is geared like a drag car. The farthest I have ever drove it was 10 miles on the interstate, and I had to keep it down to 60mph so it wasn't just screaming RPMS like when I pushed it to 70+. Haven't been on the interstate since. When I'm in 5th gear at 55-60 and back off the gas it doesn't slow down gradually, it backs down like it is in 4th. I can be in 5th and hit the gas and it will take off with about the same aceleration as any of the other gears but is wound tight at 80MPH. Your guess is as good as mine. I don't know how much John weighs, but it sounds like his 07 is like my 06.

you learn from your mistakes, and I've learned a lot
  IP Logged
verslagen1
YaBB Moderator
ModSquad

Where there's a
will, I want to be
in it.

L.A. California
Reply #16 - 02/15/07 at 21:23:36

Hutch, you sure it's going into 5th?

Mine's real happy at 60, just purrs like a big cat.

Get a tach and make sure it's shifting.