Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1 2 3 
Send Topic Print
pull (Read 3 times)
jason
Ex Member

pull
02/07/07 at 22:21:05

I'm new at this sight so bear with me. 1999 savage will crank all day long but will not fire over. when i pull it behind the truck it will fire over. After that it runs and sounds great. when it is hot it'll fire right up, but when it's cold it just cranks. someone told me to change the spark plug so i did. first i checked the old one for fire and got nothing. went and got a new ngk and still no fire. it does have power going into the coil. i chked it with a light tester.  can anyone help please

IP Logged
verslagen1
YaBB Moderator
ModSquad

Where there's a
will, I want to be
in it.

L.A. California
Re: pull
Reply #1 - 02/07/07 at 22:56:32

A weak battery will have enough to turn her over, but not enough to fire her up.

I'm guessing that if you can push start her, you have the same problem I had.  Check the cold and or push start threads.

WWW   IP Logged
justin_o_guy
Ex Member

Reply #2 - 02/08/07 at 01:18:49

I most likely will not solve this, but the guy said it will crank a long time, so that doesn't sound like a puny battery. When you are pulling behind the truck, how long till it fires? What speeds? What do you have to do with the throttle? Choke? When it's running, does it have good power? I mean, is the top end worn out to the point the compression stinks? Maybe that's why it will crank for so long, the engine is so worn out the battery isn't working hard to spin it.
I think you have a carb problem, or worn engine, Lets hope it's cheap!

IP Logged
stinger
Serious Thumper

I love YaBB 1G -
SP1!

Reply #3 - 02/08/07 at 01:31:43