Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Question - Best Windshields? (Read 5 times)
Southpaw
Serious Thumper
Alliance Member

This ol' dog ain't
staying on the
porch!

Missouri
Question - Best Windshields?
01/07/07 at 20:10:23

I've been riding my Savage now for about 4 months. While I love the ride, I knew going in I'd have a few riding issues with my height. Standing just under 6'-2", I feel like a big windsail behind the handlebars at 65-70 MPH. I put on a Slipstream Spitfire sports shield that came with the bike. It makes a big difference, but it's only 15 inches tall and doesn't quite cut it. I DO like the way it looks without taking away from the lines of the bike. Any other tall riders out there with windshields? What do you recommend?

2004 Savage. Happiness isn't around the corner, its IN the corners!....I gotta question the integrity of any organization that would have the likes of me as a member...Groucho Marx
  IP Logged
Dr_Jim
Ex Member

Re: Question - Best Windshields?
Reply #1 - 01/07/07 at 20:53:26

-

« Last Edit: 12/23/07 at 20:12:57 by Dr_Jim »  
  IP Logged
Savage Librarian
Serious Thumper

One Hoopy Frood

Houston area
Reply #2 - 01/08/07 at 09:44:52

I was never happy with any windshield on the savage.  On my C50 I have a Memphis Fats, and it does wonders.  My dad has a Memphis Slims on his VLX, and it works great.  I remember seeing someone on here with a National Cycle Dakota windshield that worked well.

The Memphis Shades windshields come in a variety of heights, so that's useful.  And there's a couple different sizes of the Dakota, if memory serves me correct.

Life is not a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely, in one pretty and well preserved piece, but to skid in broadside, used-up, worn out, and defiantly shouting 'Geronimo!!!'
xargonthegreat GuitarLOTR   IP Logged
Rogue_Cheddar
Serious Thumper

Hang up the phone
and drive!

Haverhill, Massachusetts