Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Squeaky belt (Read 2 times)
Savage = HD eater

So Cal
Squeaky belt
01/07/07 at 00:30:20

I'm hearing a rubbing or a squeaking and it sounds like it could be coming from the belt drive.  I only hear it when the bikes off and I move the bike forward.  How do I go about lubing the belt?

When I'm on the VTX, I'm a smooth operator but when I ride the Savage, I'm back to the basics!!! (and loving it!)
  IP Logged
justin_o_guy
Ex Member

Re: Squeaky belt
Reply #1 - 01/07/07 at 00:33:29

Why sweat it? If it's only when the engine is off it's not a big deal. Some squeak pretty loud. Mines kinda loud. I put canning  wax on it. Candle wax is harder. I got a box of Gulf canning wax almost a year ago & still have most of it. Only takes a little, But, I wouldn't bother if I couldn't hear it running down the road.

IP Logged
Savage = HD eater

So Cal
Reply #2 - 01/07/07 at 00:34:36

Thanks!

When I'm on the VTX, I'm a smooth operator but when I ride the Savage, I'm back to the basics!!! (and loving it!)
  IP Logged
stinger
Serious Thumper

I love YaBB 1G -
SP1!

Reply #3 - 01/07/07 at 23:35:02

is the belt on too tight?  you should be able to turn it almost a 45 degree angle. it almost will seem loose on the pully. thats the way its supposed to be. mine squeaked alot till i loosened it. i hate to admit it but i have sprayed just a tab of WD_40 on the pully and it stops the squeak. not derectly on the belt. its a 02 and the belt is still in good shape.

IP Logged
justin_o_guy
Ex Member

Reply #4 - 01/08/07 at 00:14:53

45*? I been makin it loose enough to get 90* out of it. I am pretty sure I read that somewhere on this board. I know 1 thing for sure. That gizmo they sold me was a joke! Dang belt squeaks no matter how I adjust it. I even took the guards off & used a string to align the pulleys.( imagine the "wrong answer" buzzer on a game show here.)

IP Logged
Savage_Greg
Serious Thumper