Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Replacement seat (Read 8 times)
Savage = HD eater

So Cal
Replacement seat
12/03/06 at 15:35:31

I have a 1998 LS 650.  My son rides it and I'd really like to upgrade the seat.  I know the S40 is the replacement bike and it has a "gel seat" option but it has to be modified.  Is the mod easy for a doof like me?  Would it be better to buy a less expensive custom?

When I'm on the VTX, I'm a smooth operator but when I ride the Savage, I'm back to the basics!!! (and loving it!)
  IP Logged
geo

I'm a Savage

Orlando
Re: Replacement seat
Reply #1 - 12/03/06 at 20:06:56

I have the same problem with my 2002 LS650.

HELP! Will somebody suggest a good replacement seat? Give us a vendor and part number. Give us one that can be installed easily without welding, cutting, drilling, or other intrusive operations.

Black 2002 Savage with SuperTrapp 13 discs, Dynajet Kit-DJ144, K&N drop-in, NGK-Iridium, Windscreen, Amsoil 10w-40, Metzeler ME880's
  IP Logged
Dynobob
Serious Thumper

2003 LS650 (with
Supertrapp)

Northern Virginia
Reply #2 - 12/03/06 at 21:09:10

The gel seat isn't much improvement from what I've read on this board. To get a real improvement, go with a Sportster Custom seat. You can find info here. Do a search.

Sorry Geo, no bolt on seats are available (besides the Suzuki gel seat).  I just got an Airhawk cushion. It seems to work nicely, but is rather expensive  :'(

IP Logged
Savage = HD eater

So Cal
Reply #3 - 12/03/06 at 21:15:46

tell me a little more about the airhawk.  Is it really a noticeable difference?  I looked online at this product and it seems like it would be a less expensive alternative.  I'd be interested in knowing how long you ride with it and how long you've had it.

When I'm on the VTX, I'm a smooth operator but when I ride the Savage, I'm back to the basics!!! (and loving it!)
  IP Logged
Dynobob
Serious Thumper

2003 LS650 (with
Supertrapp)