Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Knocking in the engine? (Read 10 times)
rkrush
Ex Member

Knocking in the engine?
11/25/06 at 23:51:37

Hi,

I'm a new member here, as well as a new motorcyclist with '03 Savage being my first bike. I've been riding for a few months now and am doing all right for the most part. There is one thing that I cannot seem to get right, unless it is my bike that is causing problems.

In short, whenever I upshift at the speeds recommended in the manual (2nd gear at 12 mph, 3rd at 19 mph, 4th at 25 mph, and 5th at 31 mph), there is "knocking" in the engine as if the bike is in too high of a gear. It passes shortly as I accelerate, but it still seems like something that shouldn't be happening. It's not as extreme as if I skipped a gear and it doesn't jerk the bike nearly as much, but it's still noticeable.

Does anyone have any thoughts about this?

Thank you,
Richard

IP Logged
PerrydaSavage
Serious Thumper
Alliance Member

Riding "The
Rock"!

Republic of Newfoundland
Re: Knocking in the engine?
Reply #1 - 11/26/06 at 03:10:40

In short, you seem to be shifting up to the next highest gear too soon, causing the engine to lug ... prolonged lugging of the engine isn't a good thing to be at!  Shocked

I also Ride an '03 LS650 and find the recommended up shift points in the Owners Manual to be too low ... do not be afraid to let the Bike speed up some more before shifting into the next highest gear ... try it and let us know how it goes!  Grin ... if my Bike weren't winterized, I'd take her for a spin and letcha know generally what my shift points are for everyday Riding ... I can't remember 'em off the top of my head, 'cause I mostly go by "feel" anyhow ...

Before you diagnose yourself with depression or low self-esteem, first make sure you are not, in fact, just surrounded by arseholes!
WWW   IP Logged
Trippah
Serious Thumper

I ride, therefore I
am.

central Mass
Reply #2 - 11/26/06 at 06:44:36