Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Resurrecting a Savage with Questions (Read 3 times)
callen1950
Ex Member

Resurrecting a Savage with Questions
11/07/06 at 12:02:52

Hi, everyone!

I am new to the Savage, but I rebuild hopless two-wheel cases all the time.

This Savage is a terrific bike.  It'll be my first thumper.

It was given to me by a friend of a past neighbor (I have yet to buy a bike... they all find me this way!)  Anyway, some PO tried to turn it into a drag bike.  He'd drilled out the fins, threw away half of the electrics, all of the exhaust, the front footpegs, airbox, battery box, front fork springs and all the covers, all the chrome.  He then rough fitted old 7/8 handlebars, chopped off every ounce of metal from the frame that he didn't need, etc., etc.  The final touch was to spray paint it puke green over the rust.  When he was done with it, he abandoned it in the mud, where it sat for a couple of years...  No joke, it smelled like it has rested in a pig wallow, and this might be true because the alloy wheels were completely corroded.  Never seen that, before!

I am the patron saint of lost motorcycle causes.  When I saw it, it broke my heart.  It had to live again.

After about 6 months of hunting, welding, stripping and restoring, it's coming back quite nicely, but there are a couple of things that I am not familiar with.  

After lots of hunting, I found a decompression solenoid.  I understand the principle, but I wonder if it is complete.  I have the V-shaped bracket and the cable, but I cannot figure out where it should mount.  There are no good photos in the Clymer book.  Also, when the V-shaped bracket is off, the piston just falls out.  Is this complete/correct, or am I missing a piece of the solenoid housing?