New Savage owner/rider (Read 20 times)
Vikki
YaBB Newbies

I love my 1996
LS650!

Aldergrove, British Columbia
New Savage owner/rider
09/13/06 at 16:03:20

I'm the proud new owner of a 1996 Suzuki Savage – I love this bike!! – and I wanted to say how much I appreciate all the information on this site. It's very impressive and, although I'm not up on all the technical side of things, I'm sure it will prove very useful down the road.

I'm also new to riding, having taken a course in the spring and just purchasing my bike four weeks ago. I have never driven a standard car before or EVER ridden a dirt bike or motorcycle of any kind (other than as a passenger), so this has been a huge learning process for me. It was HUGE struggle in the beginning, and I was actually pulled out of the course and took several private lessons.

Then, my husband found my bike on a website, but it took a few months for all the paperwork to come through. (The owner lives in Canada but purchased the bike in the States, when he lived there, and had never  registered it in Canada.) It was such an awesome deal that it was worth the wait. It had only 5,800 miles on it, was in EXCELLENT condition and the owner was asking only $2,300 (Can. funds). We just couldn't pass it up.

It was nerve-racking to finally get out on the road for the first time (after a three parking-lot practices), but I'm proud to report that I have now logged 800 miles and am loving every minute of it! The bike is just so nice to handle. Even my husband, who is somewhat of a Harley snob (he rides a 2003 softtail), thinks it's a great bike and that it handles amazingly well.

As a 41-year-old mother of four, this is something that I never imagined  doing. But now that I'm motoring around, I can't imagine NOT doing it. I look forward to sharing my riding experiences and reading all about yours.

Cheers.

Vikki

IP Logged
mickthelimey
Ex Member

Re: New Savage owner/rider
Reply #1 - 09/13/06 at 16:17:09