Help! Camshaft chain? (Read 5 times)
Maverick
YaBB Newbies

I love YaBB 1G -
SP1!

Fla. West Coast
Help! Camshaft chain?
09/07/06 at 09:39:12

Hi folks, this is my first time asking for help and I would sure appreciate any you can give.
I was leaving my garage yesterday in first gear when I heard a loud "ping" sound followed by what sounded like metal rattling around in the engine.  The engine cut off and although it would turn over it would not restart.  I thought that I might have broken the camshaft chain and removed the lower right engine (clutch) housing but can't see where the chain may be broken.  It's still on the sprocket at the lower end and appears tight.. The bike is a 1987 with 28k miles on it, only mod has been the petc0ck one.  Checked Tech section but could find nothing on what to look for regarding the camshaft chain. Clymers not much help either.  Could it be something else  ???   Any help on where to go from here will be appreciated.

IP Logged
vroom1776
Serious Thumper

Re: Help! Camshaft chain?
Reply #1 - 09/07/06 at 09:51:43

uh, maybe a valve too?  When my camchain tensioner went, the bike still ran, but had almost no power.  somehow I did not bend my valves or punch a hole in the piston.  

IP Logged
Jim_R
Ex Member

Reply #2 - 09/07/06 at 14:57:10

sounds exactly what happened to mine when the camchain went.  Mine pretended to start too. Bent valves and cost a buttload to fix. (like 1500).

Do a compression test on it is my guess.

IP Logged
Maverick
YaBB Newbies

I love YaBB 1G -
SP1!

Fla. West Coast
Reply #3 - 09/08/06 at 05:18:33

I have searched the tech section but am unable to find any info on how to remove the camshaft chain.  Do you have to remove the engine?  I can't afford to have someone else do it so if there are directions posted somewhere please let me know.

IP Logged
Island_Biker
Ex Member

Reply #4 - 09/08/06 at 06:47:43