Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Greetings from a new rider (Read 3 times)
Rogue_Cheddar
Serious Thumper

Hang up the phone
and drive!

Haverhill, Massachusetts
Greetings from a new rider
08/29/06 at 18:26:28

Hi all, I just want to say what a great site. I recently purchased a 1995 red Savage with just under 8000 miles for a paltry $1200. The bike is a lot of fun. I'm a new rider so the size is just fine while I get all me stupids out of the way learning to ride. I hope to take the rider safety course before the end of the season and get the permanent license. I bought the Clymer's manual and already swapped in a new drive belt as the old one had a rupture that the previous owner was unaware. The manual was quite handy as I'm not an ace mechanic but don't mind turning a wrench or two if I can. Most quotes from the stealerships for the belt change was anywhere from $275 to 500, the belt being around $162 by itself. So I dood it myself, and wasn't too traumatized. The bike is in good shape, just a few scuffs from an apparent low speed drop, no real damage except some scratches to paint on fender and tank and left front fork. I'm riding the bike totally stock for now but hope to do some of the usual mods that have been listed on this site, over the winter.

I'd like to touch up the paint but I'm not sure what the color match is. The Colorite site did not have a listing for a 95 red savage. Does anybody know what paint match I could use? I think I could airbrush away some of the scratches. Thanks. Again this is a wonderful site that has given me a lot of info in a very short amount of time. I hope to be able to contribute some in return. Rogue.

'95 Red Savage. Oring grips and pegs, 30" Fishtail muffler,152.5 main, 1/3 spacer mod ,seat lift, Verslagy.
  IP Logged
Trippah
Serious Thumper

I ride, therefore I
am.

central Mass
Re: Greetings from a new rider
Reply #1 - 08/29/06 at 19:00:41