Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Burning oil? (Read 7 times)
WKD
Ex Member

Burning oil?
06/26/06 at 15:57:24

As I stated before I am a newb with respect to bikes and I have no point of reference since this is my first bike.  I was wondering is it normal to have added almost a litre of oil after 1700 km (just over 1000 miles)?  The bike is 20 years old so it could be the age too I guess, but should I be worried about that? ???

Oh and I have had the bike for 3 months but only recently been putting some heavier mileage on it.

IP Logged
Reelthing
Serious Thumper
Alliance Member

Fish or ride that is
the question

Houston,Tx
Re: Burning oil?
Reply #1 - 06/26/06 at 16:10:45

That is quite a bit oil, but since you know it uses some it easy enough to check before you ride it and "top it off" to a bit above the top line on the sight glass. Might want to give 20w-50 a go as well.

how many miles does it have on it? although that's not really the heavy issue - how often was the oil changed in the past is more important.

If the the rings and cylinder are worn that much you most likely could use a new cam chain as well

IP Logged
WKD
Ex Member

Reply #2 - 06/26/06 at 16:42:33

The bike has 39,000 km on it (or about 24,000 miles).  As for the regularity of maintenance I don't know that for sure.  I have been using 10w40 as per the shops suggestion.  You think 20w50 would be better?

IP Logged
911radioman
Ex Member

Reply #3 - 06/26/06 at 16:59:46

I think the heavier weight of oil very well could slow your rate of consumption, unless the engine is just worn from abuse or there is an internal flaw in the engine.  I like to run a heavier weight of oil in hotter temperatures personally.

Not saying you're abusing the bike, but it could have had a difficult existence prior to your obtaining it.  Given the age of the bike, there could be any number of things causing the oil consumption.

IP Logged
WKD
Ex Member