Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
fuel mileage/back fire (Read 3 times)
ST1
Ex Member

fuel mileage/back fire
06/22/06 at 10:59:44

I recently bought an 02 Savage.  Everything on it is stock.  Im getting about 45 mpg.  Is that average on a stock bike?  Also I've got the backfire problem on decel that everyone else has.  I keep reading about the spacer mod, rejetting, and fuel/air mixture screw adjustment.  I'm not a mechanic by any stretch, so how hard would the spacer mod be for a novice.  Somethings got to give, the backfire is driving me nuts.
Thanks

IP Logged
DaddySauce

Fried Squid is the
best!

Arizona
Re: fuel mileage/back fire
Reply #1 - 06/22/06 at 11:15:20

45mpg is good.  I get a little more than that after intake/muff/carb mods.

As for the spacer mod, I had the DJ kit before I knew how to do it.  So personally, I can't tell you yay or nay, but after reading about it, you may want to be a little familiar with the parts of a carb first.  

Oh, and watch out... this bike gets addictive!!  You may not be able to leave the garage after you pull your first piece apart!   Grin

WWW   IP Logged
magicfairy
Ex Member

Reply #2 - 06/22/06 at 13:45:50

I got the my local motorbike shop (where I bought my 05) to do the work, as I didn't have a clue. (rejet, spacer, desnorkel, K&N). Wasn't cheap but I could afford it.

IP Logged
steelwolf
Serious Thumper

"I'm a cowboy,
on a steel horse I
ride."

Trinity, NC
Reply #3 - 06/22/06 at 15:48:12

The spacer mod is way simple. If you can perform simple routine maintenance proceedures you can do the spacer mod.

Thread for the mod

Pics of the carb parts

The only things not pictured are the rubber diaphram and the slide.

The re-jet, and mix screw adjustment are easy as well.