Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Mobil 1 (15,000 mile extended use) (Read 6 times)
Oldfeller2

I love YaBB 1G -
SP1!

Mobil 1 (15,000 mile extended use)
06/10/06 at 18:37:35

Has anyone tried a crankcase of 5w 30 Mobil 1 EXTENDED in their Savage yet?  

Curious for a report on all the extra stuff they put in the oil -- it looks off-white milky from all the extra stuff they put in it.   I have read past reports saying Mobil 1 synthetics is good to go on the wet clutch on the Savage but I am wondering now about the extra materials they put in the EXTENDED version ....

Oldfeller

IP Logged
olscout99
Ex Member

Re: Mobil 1 (15,000 mile extended use)
Reply #1 - 06/11/06 at 09:29:55

I'm a bike newbie, but I've been wrenching on cars and other stuff for a lot of years, and I've read up some on oils. From what I can tell, anything that has the 'energy saving' star is the wrong oil for a bike that has wet clutches. That energy saving additive is a friction modifier that messes up the clutch action. You won't find a 10W-40 oil that shows that star (least I've not seen one) so that may be the reason they use it. Myself, I've heard a lot of good things about Rotella T 15w-40 in bikes. It's a diesel oil, so it has more zinc anti wear than car oils do (zinc fouls cat convertors, so it's a no-no in car oil) and it has more ability to neutralize acids and contamination, both of which are common in bike engines.  No way would I go extended drain intervals in a bike- a couple thousand miles IF I got lazy maybe, but oil and filters are cheap. Contamination is the problem, not how the oil holds up.....

IP Logged
Oldfeller2

I love YaBB 1G -
SP1!

Reply #2 - 06/11/06 at 12:27:06