Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1 2 3 
Send Topic Print
Newbies Unite Here! (Read 11 times)
JerryAssburger
Ex Member

Newbies Unite Here!
06/08/06 at 05:53:15

Well- I'm a Suzuki LS650 newbie. Just bought a '95 and have had it for 3 days now. Love it! It's as light as my old CB350 and as fast as my old XS650! It only has had the brass plug fixed on the carb; no other modifications that I know of. What fun! I'll be digging into the carb for the recommended mods, and already have a S.E. 30" muffler coming in from ebay. Going to check the valve clearances too; sounds kind of "tappy"... but since I don't know what a new Savage sounds like, it's hard to tell....? Functionally, the only thing I think I'd want to change would be a tripmeter of some sort and a bigger tank. I remember the Chopper Guys in the 60's used to build their own. If I can locate any of those articles, I'll post them. Meanwhile, I greatly appreciate  this forum.... VERY informative and a great tool. I also think the LS650 is a great little secret. Dependable,light fast enough, good mileage, stylish and cheap to buy. When was the last time you heard those terms describe a single motorcycle? Okay, I've blabbed enough about my new ride/experience... let's hear from the other newbies!

IP Logged
SAMM
Serious Thumper

No lay down crotch
rocket for me

Portland Oregon
Re: Newbies Unite Here!
Reply #1 - 06/08/06 at 06:06:46

Welcome Newbies !!  Enjoy the ride,   Here as well as on your Savage....

My Bike My Mistress ( so my wife calls her )
  IP Logged
Savage_Rob
Serious Thumper
Alliance Member

Mechanically
Inclined Amateur

Texas (Dallas area)
Reply #2 - 06/08/06 at 07:00:13

Aye, welcome aboard!

1998|MAC muffler|ceramic coated header|K&N air filter|Amal Mk2 carb|Odyssey battery|iridium plug|NC windshield|Dunlop 491s|Superbrace|EBC brake rotor|12.5" Progressive shocks|Kuryakyn ISO grips
Savage_Rob RidingTX   IP Logged
MISS_SALLY
Ex Member

Reply #3 - 06/08/06 at 09:55:01