Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
decompression solinoid (Read 3 times)
newguy

decompression solinoid
04/10/06 at 12:50:07

Im new to motorcycles and wanting someone to explain to me what the decompression solinoid does and how it can have an effect on starting the bike.  Lamen terms please I'd rather you talk to me like a child than over my head. Thanks  Also is there any tests I can do to make sure it is working properly or even at all?

IP Logged
vroom1776
Serious Thumper

Re: decompression solinoid
Reply #1 - 04/10/06 at 13:02:24

basically it's a valve that helps starting.  When the piston is at a certain position (TDC, I think) the solenoid is energized which moves a little lever and opens a valve, allowing any compressed air to escape, then the engien goes thru its normal cycle.  At lesat that's my understanding.

See the teck section... I think there's a Decomp. Sol. thread in there.  nope.

Do a search on "decompression" and set the days to look back for 5000 or soemthing large...

IP Logged
Max_Morley
Serious Thumper

LT650 Luxury Touring
& sidecar rig

Moses Lake. WA
Re: decompression solinoid
Reply #2 - 04/10/06 at 16:20:59