Newbie (Read 2 times)
steelwolf
Serious Thumper

"I'm a cowboy,
on a steel horse I
ride."

Trinity, NC
03/26/06 at 17:06:57

Ok Guys and Gals I'm new to street bikes so be gental. I just bought my Savage and I'm ready to start the customizing. Point me in the right direction and be specific. I know alot about cages and I'm pretty dang handy with a wrench but my Savage may as well be a U.F.O.!  Here's what I wanna do...

1st. The foot controls on both sides need to be moved. The shifter needs to be farther forward and the brake farther foward and lower (at less of an angle). That being said I like the pegs where they are.

2nd. The backfire has to go. It's not that pronounced and it dosen't do it all the time. It's just a quirke of mine. Being that the bike is a 96 with less than 3k miles, how would I know if the spacer I have been hearing about has been replaced with a thinner one? Obviously if it has been removed I will notice, but where would I get a new one of the proper size should it be gone all together?

3rd. Who decided to put the 55 gal. drum on the end of the exhaust? I don't care so much about volume either way (loud/quiet) but I would like to get a muffler as close as possible to the same diameter as the pipe. And in doing that, what will I have to do as far as rejetting the carb?

Like I said I'm new so till I learn all the jargon I'm gonna act/sound real stupid with these posts. Please bare with me. Long live the Single

Thnx.

WWW   IP Logged
steelwolf
Serious Thumper

"I'm a cowboy,
on a steel horse I
ride."

Trinity, NC
Re: Newbie
Reply #1 - 03/26/06 at 17:22:35

Oh yea and another thing.

The stock spoke wheels have to go. Innertubes are for sledding. Grin

WWW   IP Logged
USCG Cremeans
Ex Member

Reply #2 - 03/26/06 at 19:40:33

Well.. Lets start with numero uno.