Cruising Speed? (Read 24 times)
bikingb
2005 No Login

Love to Ride!

Appleton, WI
Re: Cruising Speed?
Reply #15 - 03/12/06 at 17:07:55

cigaro wrote on 12/31/69 at 16:00:03:
Let us know if you find the pipe that sounds better without having to re-jet.  I wouldn't mind doing that, but I was under the impression that if you changed one you had to change the carb, too.  Isn't that the case?

Supertrapp claims that you can switch out the pipe w/o rejetting.  Mine sounds WAYYYYYY better with the Supertrapp.  But, I did rejet.  I am getting a little gold on the pipe.  So,  I must need to make some adjustment.  I did 152.5, 1/2 white spacer, 5 discs in the  supertrapp.  I thought I'd run it with the 152.5 and see what happened.

I rode today between 70-75 on the interstate.  No problems, sounded a little wierd.  For me mostly it's nerves.  I just started riding last year.

Let yourself be silently drawn by the stronger pull of that which you really love..... Rumi
http://bikepics.com/pictures/598442
bikingb   IP Logged
Dynobob
Serious Thumper

2003 LS650 (with
Supertrapp)

Northern Virginia
Reply #16 - 03/12/06 at 17:13:22

bikingb wrote on 12/31/69 at 16:00:03:
I am getting a little gold on the pipe.  So,  I must need to make some adjustment.

The only place mine has colored is on the end cap to the disks. A nice gold color. Gold isn't so bad - it's blue that you need to worry about. I run a 157.5 main jet with mine. Gas mileage is good. Power is great.

I don't care what Supertrapp says. You should rejet.

IP Logged
slavy
Serious Thumper

smart cars for
stupid people

Phoenix, Arizona
Reply #17 - 03/12/06 at 17:35:50

The bikes cruise nice at 70-75. In the SW You have to keep at leat this speed to be able to stay on the hwy. No problems with higher speeds, but the gas-milage goes down significantly. No worries about "blowing " the engine.

The arificial intelligence is no match for the natural stupidity
  IP Logged
bikingb
2005 No Login

Love to Ride!

Appleton, WI