Dynobob
Serious Thumper

2003 LS650 (with
Supertrapp)

Northern Virginia
Re: Ran across this...
Reply #15 - 03/03/06 at 17:56:09

Ok brief and to the point.

1. the Savage engine is very conservative. Low compression, small valves, mild cam timing, low horsepower @ low rpms

2. our rejetting is correct for power, long life, and smooth running - the stock jetting is way too lean.

3. There's no uneven burning, "rich and lean spots", fuel dumping, or excessive oil washing from either the rings or cylinder.

4. adding a "low-back pressure (loud)" muffler on a bike DOES NOT "make it run lean at some rpm and rich at others."

Our rejetting regimen corrects all 3 carb circuits and I can assure you my bike is jetted correctly and will last.

The reasons for these two engine failures are in no way related to what Mr. Engineer has posted. I've been modifying internal combustion engines for many years. I can assure you that free flowing exhaust and jetting for performance will only increase longevity.

IP Logged
Starlifter
Serious Thumper

It only snows seven
months of the year
here.

Eastern Michigan
Reply #16 - 03/03/06 at 21:34:32

Radioman's point is well taken. Any modification that increases power, speed, acceleration, etc. puts increased stress, friction, and heat on internal components.
While this rather benign and modest modification will not result in a catostrophic engine failure 99.999 % of the time, it just might explain the two recent engine failures discused here in the forum of late. (Especally if the bike is riden hard and fast.)
I have always been leary of making the aforementioned modification, and so far have not done so. It is at the very least  something to consider.  Undecided

Proud to be everything the right-wing hates.
  IP Logged
bentwheel
Serious Thumper
2005 No Login

Ride free, citizen

Sarnia, Ontario, Canada
Reply #17 - 03/03/06 at 21:39:28

911radioman wrote on 12/31/69 at 16:00:03:
Mr. CrankyPants said;