Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Summary of suggested mods to stock Savage (Read 11 times)
tjhart
Ex Member

Summary of suggested mods to stock Savage
02/26/06 at 15:22:12

I made my first post to this board last week, but I've been reading for quite a while.

Now that I might actually become a Savage owner, I wanted to review the various modifications suggested on this board, only to find that the best 'tidbits' are scattered throughout the board, and hard to find. So I thought I'd do my best to give a summary. I'm not a mechanic and have very little skill with tools, so please correct me or clarify where needed. Maybe if I do the footwork - and get it right, this post, or some revision, could be placed in the Technical Documents section?

The '95 and later Savages are not tuned for best engine performance. This is due to various EPA regulations. Making a few changes can significantly impact the performance of these machines.

First, a few things can be done to the carburetor to minimize backfiring and effect low to mid-range response. A white spacer on the main needle in the carburetor can be filed down to 2/3 to 1/2 thickness (affecting mid-range), and adjusting the idle mixture and idle speed screws will help low-end response. This thread covers how to make these modifications in more detail:

Mid-Range Power & the White Spacer (Backfire)