Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Putting your savage down!?! (Read 5 times)
jbrough7
Ex Member

Putting your savage down!?!
11/03/05 at 16:12:05

I'm kinda new to this so maybe I shouldn't broach the topic..but , what the heck, maybe us newbies will learn something.

What do they say?  There are only two kinds of bike riders - those who have been down and those who will be down in the future--

I took a corner too quickly and was well into it before i saw  [glow=red,2,300]THE GRAVEL!! [/glow] sitting there on the pavement.  Don't know how it got there as that was my country trip to work and I felt like I could ride it in my sleep!

Went down quick  - scraped my hands  up a bit - clutch lever hit my helmet and not my eye! - but thank goodness for cordura and icon jeans - not much else...the suzi had a bit of a dent in her tank and a few scratches i sanded out...seemed like the footpegs took everything!

Anybody else wanna yak about this?

IP Logged
babbalou
Serious Thumper

Lewisville, Texas
Re: Putting your savage down!?!
Reply #1 - 11/03/05 at 16:41:35

Had a bad experience with a gravelly corner on a bicycle as a kid. Eased on the front brake & hit the road so fast I didn't know what happened. Gravel is hard to see sometimes. Ever since I favor the rear brake when leaned over & the front for all else. I wouldn't ride a bike with a linked brake system. Crashed a lot on dirt bikes, twice on the street. One my fault, the other a cager's fault.

Had an S40 Jul '04-Jan '07
WWW   IP Logged
torque
Serious Thumper
2005 No Login

2008 nightster,flat
od green and black

rock hill,S.C.
Reply #2 - 11/03/05 at 17:35:31

theres another saying......"if u ride a motorcycle,your going to crash at least once,just depends how bad" Sad

IP Logged
sluggo
Serious Thumper
ModSquad

big singles lead,
twins follow the
pack

moses lake washington
Reply #3 - 11/03/05 at 18:13:12