Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Newbie with questions (Read 2 times)
Ooh_S40_Shiney
Ex Member

Newbie with questions
10/30/05 at 01:00:53

Hi everyone,
I'm new to this site, and in fact I'm new to motorcycling.  I took the MSF in June and bought my 2005 S40 the same week - I'm hooked ! Grin

I've owned the bike ~ 5 months and put ~7k miles already!

I'm looking to give the bike some real bite.  I've purchased a H-D Screamin' Eagle exhaust and a performance Mikuni kit w/K&N from Lancer on E-Bay.
I've heard nightmares about carb tuning, so my question is this:
Could anyone with this carb/similar exhaust give me insight how you have it jetted ?  Pilot? Needle? Jet Needle? Main?  I would love to start where others have already found success rather than start from scratch.  I've searched this forum for hours, but can't find the right info.  Undecided

I will install the carb/intake/exhaust at one time so I won't have to keep re-jetting as I add... Any help is greatly appreciated.

One more thing - this site rocks, and you guys are awesome, I've learned tons by reading the past topics!  Keep posting and we'll keep growing...

IP Logged
jbrough7
Ex Member

Re: Newbie with questions
Reply #1 - 10/30/05 at 02:16:51

One thing you definitely know - there are guys and gals on this site that know a ton and then there are people like me!

IP Logged
Savage_Greg
Serious Thumper
Alliance Member

Don't go around your
ass to reach your
elbow...

SW Washington State
Reply #2 - 10/30/05 at 05:36:56

Buy a service manual and check the Technical Corner.

IP Logged
Hammy211
Ex Member

Reply #3 - 10/31/05 at 03:12:37

Make sure you set the search back more than 7 days and you should be able to find plenty.  I don't know why they have it set up like that.  I'd probably go with a 155 main, shave the white spacer a little less than half, and up your pilot a size or two.  Adjust idle mixture as needed.  Make sure to replace those screws with stainless allens while you have them apart.