Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
500 mile checkup (Read 2 times)
RocksimusMaximus
2005 No Login

500 mile checkup
08/08/05 at 11:17:53

So I just bought my bike a couple of weeks ago and am just about to hit the 500 mile mark. The dealer told me that it is important to get it checked out after that initial break in period. Which from what I've read on here seems to hold true. But here's my dilemma. The dealership is gonna charge me 150 bucks to do the checkup. Now I'm fairly handy with a wrench, but I've never worked on a bike before. I've kept a 1963 studebaker hawk running for the past 4 years (which is no small task), so I'm pretty sure I could handle most of what the bike can throw at me. Is it worth the 150 bucks to have a "proffessional" look at it... or should I just grab a Clymer shop manual and go for it?

IP Logged
vroom1776
Serious Thumper

Re: 500 mile checkup
Reply #1 - 08/08/05 at 13:22:20

If you have a warranty, it may be worth paying the dealership to do it.  If not, and you are comfortable with your skills, spend the money on chrome or beer. just my 2 cents, worth about 1/20th a cent.  Me, I'm cheap; the only thing I'll let the dealership do is put on a tire.

IP Logged
CHRIS
2005 No Login

FRIENDSVILLE, MARYLAND
Reply #2 - 08/08/05 at 17:35:09

The first one is very important!!! The main thing is changing the oil & filter, gets the metal and assembly oils out of the engine before they start working against it. Otherwise it's just checking valve clearance, belt condition and tightness, spokes for tightness, bolts torqued to proper specs., cable routing, fluid levels, tire wear for alignment issues, brake adjustment and visual check of pads, basically, things you should be doing ocassionally anyways. This is what I do for the first service at the dealership I work at. If you're handy with a wrench, taking it to the dealer is probably just putting money in their pocket.

IP Logged
slavy