Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1 2 3 
Send Topic Print
I ran out of gas at mile 35, a reserve question (Read 30 times)
Tammi

The Devil drives a
Buick.

In the spliff bunker
I ran out of gas at mile 35, a reserve question
07/25/05 at 08:32:36

Hi everyone,

I'm new to the Savage world and this is my first post on this forum -- but I'm sure it won't be my last!

Anyway, I just picked up my black S40 '05 from the dealer Friday evening, and rode it home w/o incident. (I've new to Savages, but not new to biking ... I have previous 250cc dirt bike experience.)

On Sunday morning, I got up VERY bright and early to get some practice on the streets while traffic would be at a minimum.

Everything was fine for the first hour or so, but then the bike sputtered to a halt. I didn't think about flipping the reserve switch until I had pulled off onto the shoulder.

Flipped reserve switch. Looked at odometer, which read 35 miles.

Opened up tank, peeked inside. There was certainly enough gas to power me -- about 1/10 of a tank.

Since there was enough gas, I came to the conclusion that my new Thumper had overheated and shut down. It was hot and humid already that morning, but "only" in the high 80s.

I wondered if I had made a big mistake in buying a bike with an air-cooled engine -- if it couldn't handle this weather! Granted, I was doing a lot of stop-and-go maneuvers -- I was practicing, after all. But surely my new bike could handle it, right?

Well, since there was gas in the tank, I switched the fuel switch back to "ON" and tried to start her up. No dice.

Pushed the bike to a nearby city park, parked it in the shade and waited a half an hour. Tried starting her again. No dice.

Then, in a fit of inspiration, I flipped the switch to "Reserve" and tried again. She started right up!