Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Grips (Read 7 times)
Jim_R
Ex Member

Grips
06/23/05 at 22:40:23

How hard is to replace the grips?  Can u use hd grips for 1 inch?  Im a newbie so be patient

IP Logged
Kropatchek
Serious Thumper

Why more than 1
cylinder?

Alphen a/d Rijn  Netherlands
Re: Grips
Reply #1 - 06/24/05 at 01:40:22

Jim_R wrote on 12/31/69 at 16:00:06:
How hard is to replace the grips?  Can u use hd grips for 1 inch?  Im a newbie so be patient

Not very hard if you know the trick. Yes, you can use 1"grips.

Now, lets start with the LH side.
A twisting motion will loosen the grip end. Try to push the grip by pushing on the inside( the side close to the clutch). Meaning, if you pull on the outside you stretch the rubber making it even tighter. Push a small screwdriver under the rubber and rotate around the handlebar to loosen-up the glue, if any.
Or, if you do not want to use the grip anymore, a lenghtwise cut will separate the grip from the handlebar.

Throttle side:
Undo the 2 bolts( crews) that hold the switchhousing together. Apply full throttle, hold the throttle open on the carburator with your left hand and unhook the throttlecable with you right hand from the grip.

The rubber grip cannot be used again, you remove it by cutting it off. A lenghtwise cut will do, the rubber is approx. 4mm thick.
Now comes the tricky part: the "plastic" throttle grip has a number if ridges that you have to grind/sand down to the inside diameter of the new grip.
Don't make this fit too tight or you will decrease the inside diameter of the plastic  too much, preventing the throttle to turn smoothly.

Happy wrenching  Greetz
Kropatchek Grin

BTW: dont forget to put the LH new grip on and reassemble the throttle cable and switch housing.

Never ask your bike to scream before her throat is warm.
'93 Sav in '96 ( yellow) looks
  IP Logged
sluggo
Serious Thumper
ModSquad

big singles lead,
twins follow the
pack