Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Clutch Preferances (Read 5 times)
groove
Ex Member

Clutch Preferances
01/30/05 at 16:10:17

Good day all, newbie here.

Finally purchased my newest addition to the garage, a 1986 Black Savage.  Needs a little work, but it was bought as a project bike. Will post a few before and after pics as I get comfortable around here.
So, it needs a clutch. Slips pretty well, and I have checked cable adjustment and changed the oil just to make sure no-one threw a quart of Slick 50 in there ( Ive seen this before!). Any suggestions as to what brand name works better / worse than the others, or are the OEM parts the way to go?  Thanks!

IP Logged
Gargoyle
Ex Member

Re: Clutch Preferances
Reply #1 - 01/30/05 at 17:33:02

A few months ago I replaced my clutch plates and springs. As for as I know either EBC or Suzuki are the only choices. I used EBC because they were much less expensive.

IP Logged
bentwheel
Serious Thumper
2005 No Login

Ride free, citizen

Sarnia, Ontario, Canada
Reply #2 - 01/30/05 at 19:03:36

I have used Barnett clutch plates in other applications. Top quality stuff. Look them up and see if they have savage plates/springs.

Bentwheel FSO
2006 Suzuki 650 V-Strom
1977 Yamaha XS360
1972 Honda CL175
  IP Logged
slavy
Serious Thumper

smart cars for
stupid people

Phoenix, Arizona
Reply #3 - 01/30/05 at 22:51:43

Three early model LS650 passed thru my hands and all 3 of them needed new clutch plates. In all 3 cases I used EBC- no problem.