Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
squeeky drive belt (Read 233 times)
marty62253
2004 No Login

N. Massapequa, N.Y.
squeeky drive belt
11/17/04 at 10:56:33

i'm new to his bike - or the other way around - either way - i have a 2002 savage that needs some t.l.c. to make worthy of putting on the street.
one of many things in my way is the drive belt squeeks. - the belt looks to be riding/rubbing on the outside edge of both pulleys - how do i get the belt to stop rubbing against the side of the pulleys?  again, it is rubbing the outside edge of both pulleys??
also-the belt looks dull - is it ok to use anything to brighten it up a little - like armorall??

IP Logged
Kropatchek
Serious Thumper

Why more than 1
cylinder?

Alphen a/d Rijn  Netherlands
Re: squeeky drive belt
Reply #1 - 11/18/04 at 03:42:26

Do NOT spray anything on the drive belt. Clean it with saop and rinse with water. When dry put some talcum powder on.

Think your belt need aligning.
Get the rear wheel off the floor, loosen-up the rear axle, loosen-up the adjusters and push the rearwheel forward a bit.

Start tightening the rear adjusters while rotating the wheel and look if the belt stays in the middle. Correct tension is when you can rotate the belt 90 degr. on the bottom. Use the lines as reference.

Tighten the rear axle and lock the adjusters, done
greetz
Kropatchek

Never ask your bike to scream before her throat is warm.
'93 Sav in '96 ( yellow) looks
  IP Logged
Savage_Greg
Serious Thumper
Alliance Member

Don't go around your
ass to reach your
elbow...

SW Washington State
Reply #2 - 11/30/04 at 03:07:25

Kropatchek wrote on 12/31/69 at 16:00:11:
Do NOT spray anything on the drive belt. Clean it with saop and rinse with water. When dry put some talcum powder on.

Think your belt need aligning.
Get the rear wheel off the floor, loosen-up the rear axle, loosen-up the adjusters and push the rearwheel forward a bit.