Jerry Eichenberger
Serious Thumper

2006 S40.  OEM
windshield, saddle
bags, Sportster

Columbus, Ohio
Re: Basic Rider Training
Reply #15 - 08/11/10 at 08:25:10

I took the MSF course after a 40 year layoff from riding.

I found it very helpful.  Sure, you aren't riding at highway speeds nor in traffic, but basic control techniques are just that - techniques.

Even though my course was on a Honda Rebel, so what?  A bike is a bike when it comes to the basics.

As for Bill's experience and not needing to go back to basics once in a while, when I was a chief check pilot for my wing years ago, I loved flying with some of the guys who thought they knew it all.  Give me 10 minutes with a big head like that and I'd have that large ego swimming in self doubt.

After doing that, I's usually go fly with a standardization instructor pilot just to refresh myself.

Jerry Eichenberger
Columbus, Ohio
  IP Logged
Buster

Motul 3000 10w40
Zinc 1407ppm

Oklahoma
Reply #16 - 04/22/12 at 17:25:14

Just finished (and passed) the training today and if you ride, this is probably the best investment you can make. I spent 90% of the ride portion trying to learn/relearn proper technique...and mainly realizing that safety training today is light-years beyond the safety training course I took 30 years ago.

2015 S40 (Pearl Moon Stone Gray)
OEM Pillow Seat - OEM Windshield

"Some may call this junk. Me, I call them treasures."
  IP Logged
SALB
Serious Thumper

FSO

Whittier, AK
Reply #17 - 04/23/12 at 13:14:14

Buster wrote on 04/22/12 at 17:25:14:
Just finished (and passed) the training today and if you ride, this is probably the best investment you can make. I spent 90% of the ride portion trying to learn/relearn proper technique...and mainly realizing that safety training today is light-years beyond the safety training course I took 30 years ago.