Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
One Month:  A New Rider Rept (Lessons, Mods, (Read 43 times)
Susan
Serious Thumper
2004 No Login

Been AWOL but I'm
back...

Eastern PA
One Month:  A New Rider Rept (Lessons, Mods,
07/28/04 at 07:00:32

I am a new rider and it has been one month since I got my Savage (2004 purple).  I thought I would share how the month has gone.  If you are a new rider, maybe you can avoid some of my mistakes.  If you are an experienced rider, maybe you’ll learn something you can use when you are helping a new rider or maybe it will just be a trip down memory lane…

Why I Started Riding: I have been a happy passenger on my husband’s bike (Triumph Thunderbird) for several years.  Last fall he wanted to take the MSF course as a refresher and I decided to take it too.  I love adventure and thought it might be fun to learn how to ride.  The course was excellent.  I had so much fun I couldn’t stop smiling for days afterwards!  Seriously!  I loved the feel of the wind, leaning the bike (scraped the foot pegs twice in the class), and being in the driver’s seat.  Incidentally, I got a better score on the riding test than my husband who has been riding for almost 20 years.  Note to new riders: TAKE THE COURSE.  It will give you confidence, help you get your license, teach you useful things and save your butt more than once.  Besides, wouldn’t you rather drop their bike then yours?  More on dropping the bike later…