Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1 2 3 4
Send Topic Print
white spacer and jetting (Read 48 times)
mike

white spacer and jetting
12/22/04 at 09:09:43

First I want to say thanks to everyone who has answered my many posts in the last few days. I am  new to the board and I really appreciate all of your  help. I am new to the Savage as well but I have a lot of experience with Vespas and other small engines. I just purchased a 2001 savage and I am getting ready to install a straight pipe (dont try to talk me out of it because I have made up my mind). The straight pipe would be most similar to the MAC slip on.  I have read post after post and it seems that there are 3 carb modifications that I can make:
1. drill out the plug and adjust the slow idle screw
2. remove the white spacer on the needle jet
3. change the main jet to 150, 152.5, or 155
From what I have read, it makes complete sense to dril out the plug and adjust the slow idle screw, as afterall it is adjustable and easy to change. My real question is, if you change the main jet to say a 155, then should you remove or modify the spacer. It seems here that most people do one or the other. I dont mind doing both, but It would be a real help to hear it from someone that has already had success or failure with it.

Thanks so much for everyones help
mike C

IP Logged
tekxtc
Ex Member

Re: white spacer and jetting
Reply #1 - 12/22/04 at 09:56:24

Good question.

I am planning to do things similar to yours to my bike over the winter. This one I missed. Lets see what people weigh in.

Autif

IP Logged
Mr 650
Serious Thumper

The LS650- Classic
style & 4-valve
engine

Mempho
Reply #2 - 12/22/04 at 10:37:11

Mike wrote on 12/31/69 at 16:00:12:
It seems here that most people do one or the other. I dont mind doing both, but It would be a real help to hear it from someone that has already had success or failure with it.

Thanks so much for everyones help
mike C